Hats off to Hughes

Today, I tip my hat to John Hughes. Upon reading that the writer/director/producer died yesterday morning from a heart attack at the unripe age of 59, I was stunned both at his untimely death and in the long list of credits for which he is responsible. Hughes, who I recognized as the brains behind some of my favorite Ringwald 80’s films – I still watch Pretty in Pink every time it is on! – and the pop culture classic Ferris Bueller’s Day Off that was revered and (too) often imitated by my older brother, was also the mastermind behind National Lampoon’s Vacation, Home Alone, and Planes, Trains and Automobiles. His range and humor was nothing short of astounding.

Hughes was a talented writer gifted in character development and examining the inner workings of the minds of teenagers and adults, alike. He left behind a string of relatable characters, clever dialogue, and memorable images (Ferris’ parade shenanigans beneath his father’s office window) to a generation that will not easily forget them. 

R.I.P.

Leave a Reply

