Things I’ve Learned: Birthday Edition

I had a very thoughtful post up about the ethical and profitable arguments for sustainability.  And then WordPress decided to give me an error message but not until I left the office – so the post is gone.  Sad.

The good news is that it’s my birthday today – so I can always dole out some wisdom that only someone who has lived 24 whole years on this planet can possess.  You can thank me later.

  • The song is right – there IS solace at the bottom of a bottle.  But there’s also a lifetime worth of regrets the next day when you realize the older you get, the less a hangover can be cured by a greasy breakfast and some gatorade. 
  • Independence is wonderful, right up until the point where you have to clean your toilet bowl.  Then it’s just a slap in the face.
  • You do, in fact, start to become you parents, whether you like it or not.  Sentences escape my mouth all the time that are my mother to a T – right down to the inflection and tone.  Frightening but true
  • Passion drives success – anything less just won’t shine, it’s almost a guarantee
  • The desire to read and learn grows stronger every day
  • So does the desire to eat ice cream directly out of the container
  • Regardless of how old you actually are, signing up for a 401k or any type or retirement fund will make you feel old
  • They were wrong – revenge is best served with fresh baked brownies and a glass of Cab.  Somebody needs to update the old adage book

Probably the most important thing I’ve learned thus far is that everything I think I know now will change in the blink of an eye.   I think one of my favorite quotes is by Oscar Wilde – “Experience is just the name we give to our mistakes.”   Truth.

Posted by: Ashley / follow me on Twitter

Leave a Reply

