Super Success?

It’s that time of the year again. The Monday after the big game when everyone is giving the play by play of, you guessed it…the ads! I must admit, I wasn’t looking forward to watching this year’s game. As a die-hard Giants fan I’m still a little bit bitter about the two teams that ended up fighting for the coveted Lombardi Trophy.  I mean Cardinals/Steelers, great teams, but how can you beat last year’s SuperBowl? Impossible! Although it did prove to be an awesome game. (OK now back to the topic at hand!)

Now normally when watching football, commercials are the time to refill my drink, make a pit stop, or let the dog out. But this game does not fall under normal circumstances. Thankfully my DVR allowed the ever so important “potty breaks” so we wouldn’t have to miss a thing. Every year the SuperBowl delivers the most anticipated ads of the year. Each year they get more and more elaborate, and more and more expensive. SuperBowl XLIII was no different as a 30-second spot ran advertisers $3 million. With today’s economic crisis looming, I was interested to see if manufacturers were going to pull back, or go full bore. It turns out they did both. Major companies such as Budweiser, Pepsi Co and GoDaddy.com launched several new spots throughout the game, while smaller manufacturers had much less of a presence. As always there were the Budweiser Clydesdales, some insanely provocative GoDaddy.com commercials, and several that were truly obscure, most courtesy of Monster.com.

All and all I was disappointed with this year’s showing. Yes, many of them were funny, but too often they failed to resonate. Only an hour after the game, we were challenged to be able to match the commercial with the sponsor. But that won’t stop any of us from catching a second viewing of those hilarious, sometimes outrageous ads. Here at Caster, we have compiled some of our favorites and not so favorites from last night’s ratings festivities.  Feel free to share your thoughts about the biggest ad night of the year with us.

To view all the SuperBowl XLIII ads, visit Hulu

Lauren’s Thoughts –

I have a tie for my favorites. While I am not usually a lover of the Budweiser commercials (minus the beloved Clydesdales) I though the Bud Light Office Meeting and the Doritos Office Bowl commercials were fantastic. Maybe that’s the destruction junkie in me, but I laughed my head off! I have to add in that the Gold4Cash spot with Ed McMahon and MC Hammer were classic. My least favorite of the night had to be the Taco Bell Smooth Moves. There was just no point to it for me.

 

It has to be said…what was with the 3-D commercials! I know it was a big promotion for some upcoming movies, but for those of us whose homemade glasses didn’t produce the desired effect, they were almost unwatchable (although watching top NFL athletes try their hand at a choreographed ballet was quite amusing).

 

Katie’s Thoughts –

I’m not going to lie, I was left fairly under-whelmed.

 

My favorite commercial (though I must admit, I missed quite a few when I was talked into playing a video game) was the E*TRADE’s Talking Babies. Apparently Paone thought differently (see below), but the bantering babies actually made me laugh out loud.

 

I was not a fan of the Budweiser commercials, at all. I suppose the least horrific of the series was the “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” horses in love spot. Ever since Stepmom, I love that song, but that was the extent of its entertainment value for me. Another disappointment was the Cars.com commercial – the prodigy kid handing his number over to the girl saying “call me”. Loved it.  SO much potential to be a great commercial right up to the end…  I think it would have worked for any OTHER product besides Cars.com.

 

Joe’s Thoughts –

Overall, a pretty weak crop. CareerBuilder.com’s “Tips” ad was by far the finest. It accurately summed up the modern existence of far too many people, and in the process reinforced my warm and fuzzy feelings about how fortunate I am to be a proud employee of Caster Communications. Given that today’s Groundhog Day, its impact is even more timely. This Monster.com spot was also quite good in communicating this theme, but it paled in comparison to its competitor’s.

 

Two others get honorable mention. Cash4Gold.com’s “Heeeeeere’s Money!” spot with poor Ed McMahon and Hammer was awesome. “My goooold giraffe!” Indeed!

 

The Hulu.com spot with Alec Baldwin was refreshingly honest and quite hilarious. The level of self-actualizing metacommentary on display—both about Hulu and, through Baldwin, ourselves—made me think that my TV and my house might actually implode.

 

Another awesome thing… when you watch the ads on Hulu, they are actually sponsored by Coke Zero. Viva America!

 

The worst—or in my view, the most annoying—spots were the latest excruciating E*Trade “Talking Babies” spot (stale ‘90s-era “humor” mixed with a distressingly glib message about reckless online investing that is totally inappropriate right now) and GoDaddy.com’s usual sleazy-but-not-sexy-in-the-slightest trash. I didn’t link to these because they don’t deserve any more attention than they’ve already received.

 

Oh, and I think I am in love with Flo from the Progressive Insurance ads, but Progressive didn’t run a spot during the game. I just needed to get that off my chest, though.

 

Posted by: Lauren

Leave a Reply

