Gesture controlled TV in these neck of the woods?

This is my first year in my six with Caster Communications that I am not attending CES. I’m not going to lie, I genuinely miss being in the action of it all. I heart Vegas. The restaurants, the venues, the technology (listed in no particular order)… what is there not to love?

To keep up-to-date, I’ve been relying on tweets and blog coverage of the show. Today, CE Pro blogged that Hitachi’s Gesture Remote Control TV is possibly the “coolest gadgets at CES 2009”. Hmm… really? Without further specs or a first-hand demo I could be wrong, but… is it just me or does anyone else wonder about the challenges and sensitivity of the  monitor’s sensors?

Kids running through the living room – channel change.

Waving out the window to a departing guest – volume lowers.

Definitely NOT the TV to play Wii Fit or other gaming devices on.

Have Hitachi product developers ever visited Rhode Island (or Boston, my current dwelling)? The Gesture might actually go into an over-stimulated freeze state because WOW, do we have some animated hand talkers in these neck of the woods!

In all seriousness, the cool factor IS there. Maybe I am just jealous that I can’t get one,  after all I cannot sit still or silent for that long (my co-workers can concur).

You can check out the video here.

Posted by: katie

One Response to Gesture controlled TV in these neck of the woods?

  1. Michael says:

    I went for the first time last year. It was all skinny TV’s, 3D TV’s and really big TV’s!

Leave a Reply

