Green Brain

They say it takes around four weeks to change a behavior.  Eating healthier, exercising, changing a daily activity or even quitting a bad habit.  So I’m wondering – how long will it take me to adjust to my new green brain?  I’ve been helping Kim with the Green Life | Smart Life project and in the process, have been doing endless amounts of reading and learning about what it means to truly live and breathe an eco-friendly life.  I’ve been thinking about how I can make an impact – how anyone can make an impact, and which programs and initiatives are worthwhile and which are just a big marketing ploy. 

It’s overwhelming – almost as overwhelming as diving head first into Twitter without any knowledge of what it is you are supposed to do on there (thankfully I’ve figured it out and with the help of my TwitterBerry am slightly addicted…I digress).  Reading about all the ways in which a single human being contributes to the degredation of the planet is not only sad but extremely guilt-inducing.  As hard as I might try, in the current state of things, I’m not very green.  I walk to work sometimes and don’t drive very often, but I do fly pretty regularly so I’m pretty sure that negates all the air pollution I save when I forgo the drive in.  I recycle but not everything I possibly could and I know that every time I move, I seem to throw out more crap than I ever realized I had before.  I don’t buy completely local and yes, I’ve been known to shop at big brand stores that get their products from China. 

I picked up a copy of The Green Book in Borders the other day and browsed through the long list of ways to go green without turning your life upside down.  The book itself is packed with information but as I flipped through the (made from 100% recycled materials) pages, I realized that any normal person trying to figure out a way to be nicer to the environment would feel overwhelmed when presented with all the possibilities.  There has to be a better way to understand how to change your bad habits without drastically changing the very essence of your life. 

So now I’m on a mission.  My overloaded green brain and I are going to spend some time thinking about a better way to make this truly extraordinary change.

Posted by: Ashley / ashleyatcaster

One Response to Green Brain

  1. castercomm says:

    The thing about greening your life that most people don’t realize is that it does not have to be all or nothing. You can do a little or a lot, and everything you do helps not just you, but the world around you. So even though you fly, walking when you can is great. Don’t do it all at once, use up your current cleaners and then as you do, replace them with Free Trade, organic and eco friendly cleaners. Going green doesn’t have to overwhelm…as for Twitter, that’s another story.

Leave a Reply

