Fight, Fight, Fight

I’d be willing to bet money that most people have been affected by cancer in one way or another. For me, I got the double whammy.

In high school, my maternal grandmother was diagnosed with breast cancer. Even with chemotherapy, the cancer spread quickly, and we lost her far too young, far too soon.

Watching someone you love fight a losing battle is devastating, and when the ordeal was over I hoped I would never have to face it again.

And I didn’t…until my sophomore year of college, when on Christmas Eve of all days, my mother learned that she too had breast cancer.

I was lucky. She was lucky. Her breast cancer was fought with radiation and today, six years later, she is still cancer-free. But I’ll tell you, I can hardly begin to put into words the fear and sadness that overwhelmed me knowing that there was a possibility that cancer would take my mother.

Most of the time I felt helpless. What could I do? What could I do to fight the disease and support the cure? Well, I did this.

Every day I visited the Breast Cancer Site and clicked to donate free mammograms to women who can’t afford them. It’s simple, it’s quick, it’s free, and it’s effective. Every click you make translates 100% into one less woman — one less mother, sister, daughter, friend — who will lose the battle with breast cancer.

I am getting married in three days. My grandmother will not be able to see me walk down the aisle, but luckily, thanks to research, thanks to people like you donating to the cause, my mom will link her arm through mine and walk me down the aisle.

And that means everything.

Molly/MollyatCaster

Leave a Reply

