PR: Taught or Natural?

Because I run a small PR firm, I have received more resumes in my career than I care to count. Despite this, I am still amazed with each new batch how many people start elsewhere. Education runs the gamut, but I come across Psychology, Journalism and English (personal fave as an English major myself) most often. Career paths start as widely. There’s always sales, fashion retail, waiters and of recent mortgage brokers. I’ve hired people with a vast level of PR experience who have been wicked bad (a fair statement I believe as both a Rhode Islander and as a boss) and people who have had no PR experience that have proven to be incredible. I believe the difference is common sense and personality. Many disagree. My question is this: can PR be taught or do you have to be a natural?

Posted by: KDL

Leave a Reply

