Embrace Change – Inspiration of the Torturous Dream

I dreamt about PR last night. I worked all night long last night, and when I was finally able get to sleep, I dreamt about PR.

As much as I genuinely enjoy work (insert brown-nosing comments here), I was less than thrilled by the special guest appearances from my “Players of the Week” infiltrating my precious downtime. I woke up mentally exhausted.

This morning, I decided to shut down the engines and (attempt to, at least) get myself back to neutral (you know I’m tired when I’m communicating in Wedding Crasher script). I decided to read-a tried and true practice that usually gets my cylinders firing, refocuses my mind, and catches me up on the world (err…the CE industry). 

Of course, I was AT WORK and the nearest thing at reach was Systems Integration Asia. I picked it up and began my mental escape. And there, in the unlikeliest of places-Editor Jeremy Tan’s foreword-was a full exploration of the topic that has been at the root of my week gone awry: Change.

Tan was commenting on the state of digital cinema systems and the distribution of content. He cited the pressures on movie theater owners, who are desperately trying to keep pace with the increasingly exciting home entertainment experience and the boom in home theater. He noted conflicts between the old and the new guards in terms of their acceptance of new methods for digital content distribution that can save time and money, as well as the reluctance of the movie theater industry to change even though it recognizes the necessity to keep up with the times and provide better options for “finicky viewing audiences.”

The piece ended with two poignant quotes that seemed to put my week in perspective:

  • “The world hates change, yet it is the only thing that has brought progress.” – Charles Kettering
  • “We live in a moment of history where change is so speeded up that we begin to see the present only when it is already disappearing.” – R.D. Laing

I have known this to be true: Change is undoubtedly uncomfortable, and it fosters fear. Change takes time. Change often presents unexpected challenges. Change is a process.  

In every facet of my personal and professional life in the past week, I’ve found myself at an impasse and all because of “change”. There is a goal. To attain it, change is necessary. Research is done, plan mapped, groundwork laid, steps are taken, and it is set in motion. When the path veers, frustration piques, minds reel… and, in my case, dream exhausting PR dreams.

I am Type A (and I know there are a lot of you out there). I like order, it brings me comfort. A client once told me I had to shed my need for order to work on the account; I compromised. I am now a closet Type A who now only twitches occasionally when my semblance of order is disrupted. On the other hand, I am impatient. When I do embark, I expect immediate and (hopefully) successful results. What I sometimes forget in my impatience is that while I demand immediacy, I also understand the detriment of haste.

Change ignites a journey, it is often not direct nor timely.  The journey-with all of its lessons, experiences, setbacks and progress-is just as important as the final destination.

The consumer electronics industry thrives on technological advances, product development, early-adoption-CHANGE. Recessions, format wars, new market segments, and new technologies are quite simply challenges and opportunities. When we’re stuck in the moment, we can’t see past the challenges, and can’t arrive at that increased bottom line soon enough.

While Systems Integration Asia wasn’t exactly the mental vacation I was hoping for, it provided me with a welcome state of clarity this afternoon. We may not ask for change, but it is going to happen, and often without our approval.  It is not perfect, but how can it be because we who guide it are not perfect. It is an opportunity to learn from the past, to embrace the present, and to have faith that our plan is sound, that we are equipped with the tools to weather the journey, and though never what we expect, that the journey of “change” will hopefully result in success but always result in progress.

 Posted by: Katie

Leave a Reply

